Courtesy: Spencer Farrin (Moscow, Idaho)
Yinka garners WAC honors
Courtesy: Idaho Athletic Media Relations
          Release: 03/07/2011
Files available Print RSS
DENVER - After breaking the Idaho and Western Athletic Conference all-time rebounding records, senior women's basketball player Yinka Olorunnife was honored as a second-team all-WAC selection, and a WAC all-defensive team selection Monday, the league office announced.

Both honors are the second of Olorunnife's career, as she was named to both teams after her sophomore campaign in 2008-09.

"I think it's a tremendous personal achievement, and I also think it's a tremendous honor team-wide," Idaho coach Jon Newlee said. "Usually the players on the all-league teams are from the better teams. Obviously she's been a huge part of what our team has been able to accomplish, and I'm glad to see the rest of the coaches in the league gave her the respect of putting her on the all-league team, because she certainly deserves it."

Olorunnife finished the regular season averaging 14.0 points and 10.3 rebounds per game, as she has started all 28 games of the season for the Vandals. Her 1,030 career rebounding total surpassed Alli Nieman's 1,005 for Idaho's school record, and Shanavia Dowdell's former WAC record of 1,025. She is joined by Hawai'i's Kamilah Jackson (11.9 points, 12.0 rebounds) as the only two players in the WAC to average a double-double for the season.

Throughout the course of the season, Olorunnife has grabbed 289 rebounds, the second most in a single-season in Idaho history - behind only her 2008-09 mark of 310 -- to go along with a team-high 47 steals and 17 blocks.

"She has been the center of our zone for three years, and done some amazing things for her size," Newlee said. "She's been our rock defensively and the all-defensive team honor is well deserved."

Louisiana Tech's Adrienne Johnson earned WAC Player of the Year honors, and is joined on the all-WAC first team by Utah State's Ashlee Brown, Nevada's Shavon Moore and Tahnee Robinson, and Fresno State's Jaleesa Ross.

Joining Olorunnife on the all-WAC second-team are Jasmine Bendolph and Tarkeisha Wysinger-Mackey from LA Tech, Rosie Moult from Fresno State, and Madison Spence from New Mexico State.

Moore was named the WAC's Defensive Player of the Year, while Brown earned Newcomer of the Year honors, and Utah State coach Raegan Pebley was named Coach of the Year.

The WAC all-freshman team featured Hawai'i's Jackson and Shawna-Lei Kueku, along with Boise State's Diana Lee, New Mexico State's Jasmine Rutledge an Fresno State's Taylor Thompson.

The Vandals are the No. 5 seed as they begin the 2011 WAC Tournament on Wednesday, and they will run into in-state rival Boise State, the No. 8 seed, in the opening round. The winner of that game will advance to the quarterfinals to face No. 4 Nevada. The Vandals went a combined 3-1 in the regular season against the Broncos and Wolf Pack, sweeping the season series with BSU, and splitting with Nevada.

First Team All-WAC
Ashlee Brown (Utah State)
Adrienne Johnson (LA Tech)
Shavon Moore (Nevada)
Tahnee Robinson (Nevada)
Jaleesa Ross (Fresno State)

Second Team All-WAC
Jasmine Bendolph (LA Tech)
Rosie Moult (Fresno State)
Yinka Olorunnife (Idaho)
Madison Spence (New Mexico State)
Tarkeisha Wysinger-Mackey (LA Tech)

All-Defensive Team
Alice Coddington (Utah State)
Adrienne Johnson (LA Tech)
Shavon Moore (Nevada)
Yinka Olorunnife (Idaho)
Tarkeisha Wysinger-Mackey (LA Tech)

All-Freshman Team
Kamilah Jackson (Hawai'i)
Shawna-Lei Kuehu (Hawai'i)
Diana Lee (Boise State)
Jasmine Rutledge (New Mexico State)
Taylor Thompson (Fresno State)

Player of the Year: Adrienne Johnson (LA Tech)
Defensive Player of the Year: Shavon Moore (Nevada)
Newcomer of the Year: Ashlee Brown (Utah State)
Coach of the Year: Raegan Pebley (Utah State)

Vandal Xtra
Member Login
Learn More
Enjoy PREMIUM access
and LIVE events!
More on
Learn More!
Vandal Camps
Learn from the Best!
Idaho Visitors Center
Uploaded Ad
Sun Belt
Idaho Sports Properties