Kloke garners all-WAC accolades
Courtesy: Idaho Athletic Media Relations
          Release: 03/07/2010
Print RSS

DENVER - The Western Athletic Conference announced its women's postseason award winners on Sunday, and Idaho's Rachele Kloke earned her first career all-WAC accolades.

Kloke, a junior from Stanwood, Wash., had a breakout season in 2009-10 and the WAC's coaches rewarded her by voting her to the all-WAC second team. Her selection keeps alive an Idaho streak of 27 consecutive seasons with an all-conference honoree.

Kloke, a combo guard/post for Idaho, ranked fourth in WAC play with a 17.0 scoring average on 45.5 percent shooting. She also averaged 4.9 rebounds per game in conference play and led Idaho in scoring in 15 of the team's 29 games.

Kloke scored more than 25 points three times this season and scored double-digit points in 14 of the team's 16 conference games. Prior to this season, Kloke's career scoring average was 6.4 points on 34.9 percent shooting.

Last week, Kloke earned WAC Player of the Week honors after leading the Vandals to a 2-0 with a season- and career-high 28 points, the final three of which came on a buzzer-beating 3-pointer to give Idaho the win.

Idaho has earned seven second-team all-WAC honors since joining the league for the 2005-06 season. Kloke is the sixth different Vandal to be honored on the team.

The Idaho women finished the season 10-19 overall and 8-8 in WAC play, good for a fourth-place tie and the No. 4 seed at the WAC Tournament, which kicks off on Wednesday.

2009-10 WAC Women's Basketball Postseason Awards

Coach of the Year: Adrian Wiggins, Fresno State
Player of the Year: Shanavia Dowdell, Louisiana Tech
Defensive Player of the Year: Jaleesa Ross, Fresno State
Newcomer of the Year: Tahnee Robinson, Nevada

First-Team All-WAC:
Shanavia Dowdell, Louisiana Tech
Tasha Harris, Boise State
Adrienne Johnson, Louisiana Tech
Tahnee Robinson, Nevada
Jaleesa Ross, Fresno State

Second-Team All-WAC:
Crystal Boyd, New Mexico State
Rachele Kloke, Idaho
Shavon Moore, Nevada
Hayley Munro, Fresno State
Amber White, Utah State

All-Defensive Team:
Alice Coddington, Utah State
Shanavia Dowdell, Louisiana Tech
Adrienne Johnson, Louisiana Tech
Shavon Moore, Nevada
Jaleesa Ross, Fresno State

All-Freshman Team:
Banna Diop, Utah State
Lauren Lenhardt, Boise State
Julia Marshall, Boise State
Rosie Moult, Fresno State
Camila Rosen, New Mexico State

Vandal Xtra
Member Login
Learn More
Enjoy PREMIUM access
and LIVE events!
More on GoVandals.com
Learn More!
Vandal Camps
Learn from the Best!
Idaho Visitors Center
Uploaded Ad
Sun Belt
Idaho Sports Properties