Courtesy: Idaho Athletic Media Relations
Olorunnife grabs All-America nod
Courtesy: Idaho Athletic Media Relations
          Release: 03/30/2011
Print RSS
MOSCOW, Idaho - After helping the Vandals to their first postseason appearance in 25 years, and shattering school and Western Athletic Conference records along the way, Idaho senior women's basketball player Yinka Olorunnife was selected to the Associated Press All-America team, earning honorable mention honors.

Olorunnife becomes the third AP All-America selection in program history, and the sixth All-America of any kind, joining Leilani Mitchell (2005-06 AP/WBCA) and Emily Faurholt (2003-04 AP/WBCA), Alli Nieman (1998-99 WBCA), Denise Brose (1981-82 AIAW/1979-80 AIAW) and Willette While (1981-82 AIAW).

Olorunnife finished her senior campaign averaging 14.7 points and 10.6 rebounds per game, collecting 17 double-doubles along the way. Her 329 rebounds topped her own school record for single season rebounds (310 in 2008-09), and lifted her career total to 1,070, topping the Idaho (1,005) and WAC (1,025) all-time records. She also broke WAC's all-time record for career rebounds in WAC games, finishing with 624.

Olorunnife was the only Vandal to start all 31 games on the season. Her 10.6 rebounds per game ranked 21st in the nation, while her 17 double-doubles ranked 14th and her 14.7 points ranked 160th.

On Nov. 27, Olorunnife scored her 1,000th career point in a win over Sacramento State, and she finished her career with 1,383, the sixth most in program history.

The All-America honor is the most recent in a growing list of accolades this season for Olorunnife. She has also earned preseason all-WAC, WAC Player of the Week (No. 15-21), All-Tournament team (Oregon Tournament, Nov. 26-28), second-team all-WAC, WAC all-defensive team, WAC all-tournament team and academic all-district honors in 2010-11.

The AP All-America team features five first-team selections, five second-team selections, five third-team selections and 32 honorable mentions. Louisiana Tech's Adrienne Johnson, this year's WAC Player of the Year, was the only other player from the WAC to join Olorunnife on the list, earning honorable mention status as well.


Maya Moore, Connecticut, 6-0, senior, Lawrenceville, Ga., 22.3 ppg, 8.2 rpg, 4.1 apg, 52.2 fg pct., 2.2 steals
Brittney Griner, Baylor, 6-8, sophomore, Houston, 23.1 ppg, 7.8 rpg, 55.0 fg pct, 4.7 blocks
Jantel Lavender, Ohio State, 6-4, senior, Cleveland, 22.8 ppg, 10.9 rpg, 54.8 fg pct.
Danielle Adams, Texas A&M, 6-1, senior, Kansas City, Mo., 22.7 ppg, 8.7 rpg, 48.5 fg pct
Jeanette Pohlen, Stanford, 6-0, senior, Brea, Calif., 14.6 ppg, 90.4 ft pct., 4.8 apg

Danielle Robinson, Oklahoma, 5-9, senior, San Jose, Calif., 18.3 ppg, 5.1 apg, 87.9 ft pct.
Amber Harris, Xavier, 6-4, senior, Indianapolis, 18.7 ppg, 10.2 rpg, 52.5 fg pct.
Courtney Vandersloot, Gonzaga, 5-8, senior, Kent, Wash., 19.6 ppg, 10.2 apg
Nnemka Ogwumike, Stanford, 6-2, junior, Cypress, Texas, 16.8 ppg, 7.5 rpg, 57.6 fg pct.
Jasmine Thomas, Duke, 5-9, senior, Fairfax, Va., 15.0 ppg, 3.8 rpg, 3.4 apg, 2.3 steals

Shekinna Strickland, Tennessee, 6-2, junior, Morrilton, Ark., 12.8 ppg, 7.3 rpg, 49.1 fg pct.
Shenise Johnson, Miami, 5-11, junior, Henrietta, N.Y., 19.6 ppg, 8.3 rpg, 48.8 fg pct.
Victoria Dunlap, Kentucky, 6-1, senior, Nashville, Tenn., 17.0 ppg, 8.7 rpg, 3.0 steals
Ta'Shia Phillips, Xavier, 6-6, senior, Indianapolis, 16.1 ppg, 12.4 rpg, 60.5 fg pct.
Skylar Diggins, Notre Dame, 5-9, sophomore, South Bend, Ind., 14.2 ppg, 4.8 apg, 4.1 rpg

Kachine Alexander, Iowa; Angie Bjorklund, Tennessee; Kelsey Bolte, Iowa State; Jessica Breland, North Carolina; Cierra Brevard, Florida State; Kourtney Brown, Buffalo; Sydney Colson, Texas A&M; Jasmine Dixon, UCLA; Elena Delle Donne, Delaware; Dawn Evans, James Madison; Shante Evans, Hofstra; Briana Gilbreth, Southern Cal; Keisha Hampton, DePaul; Tiffany Hayes, Connecticut; Courtney Hurt; Virginia Commonwealth; Ify Ibukwe, Arizona; Amy Jaeschke, Northwestern; Jessica Jenkins, Hampton; Adrienne Johnson, Louisiana Tech ; Melissa Jones, Baylor; Kalisha Keane, Michigan State; Kevi Luper, Oral Roberts; Deirdre Naughton, DePaul; Yinka Olorunnife, Idaho ; Kayla Pedersen, Stanford; Jaime Printy, Iowa; Jence Rhoads, Vanderbilt; Sugar Rodgers, Georgetown; Odyssey Sims, Baylor; Meighan Simmons, Tennessee; Carolyn Swords, Boston College; Riquna Williams, Miami.

Vandal Xtra
Member Login
Learn More
Enjoy PREMIUM access
and LIVE events!
More on
Learn More!
Vandal Camps
Learn from the Best!
Idaho Visitors Center
Uploaded Ad
Sun Belt
Idaho Sports Properties