Courtesy: Idaho Athletic Media Relations
Silver & Goldspys Handed Out
Courtesy: Idaho Athletic Media Relations
          Release: 05/10/2014
Print RSS

MOSCOW, Idaho—The University of Idaho celebrated its 2013-14 athletic achievements Saturday night, during the fifth annual Silver & Goldspy Award Show, presented by Pepsi and Sodexo.

The event is organized by the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) and each award is voted upon by the student-athletes, coaches and staff. In its fifth year of existence, the event showcased Vandal highlights from the year, featured comedic video presentations and several individual and team honors from the season.

Junior Stacey Barr beat out a strong list of candidates for Female Athlete of the Year. Barr added to her list of honors in 2014 which already include Western Athletic Conference Player of the Year and WAC Tournament MVP.

Barr, averaged 18.2 points, 7.7 rebounds and 2.7 assists in 34 games for Idaho. She scored in double figures in 31 of her 34 games, posting 20 or more points in 16 contests. The Melbourne, Australia native, netted 620 points in 2013-14, good enough for fourth on Idaho’s all-time single season scoring list. Barr scored a career-high 35 points against Chicago State in the WAC Tournament and finished the season with 13 double-doubles.   

Senior Stephen Madison took home the Male Athlete of the Year honor.

Madison averaged team-bests of 20.1 points, 7.6 rebounds, 2.4 assists, 1.0 steals and 0.5 blocks per game in 2013-14 and finished his career as Idaho’s second all-time leading scorer with 1,624 points. His 684 points in 2013-14 are the fourth best in a single-season in Idaho history and his 20.1 scoring average ranked 24th in the nation. Madison was a first team All-Western Athletic Conference and WAC all-tournament team selection, and earned a league-record five WAC Player of the Week honors during the season.

Track & Field swept the Freshman of the Year categories with Arphaxad Carroll and Meghan Palesch winning Male and Female honors, respectively. Carroll was also awarded the Most Clutch Athlete of the Year.

Carroll hit a season-best mark in the long jump with a leap of 23-9.5 (7.25m) at the Cougar Indoor. He also ran a season-best time of 6.90 in the 60m at the Western Athletic Conference Championships meet and earned a WAC title in the triple jump with a  season-best mark of 49-2.5 (15.00m). In addition, Carroll also received the WAC Freshman of the Year award.

Palesch ran a season-best time in the 60m at the Idaho Open finishing second overall. She also hit a season-best time in the 400m at the Husky classic with a time of 57.33, her time of 8.82 in the 60m hurdles at the Idaho Collegiate also was a season-best mark over the indoor season. At the WAC championships, Palesch placed fourth in the finals of the 60m hurdles and was also on the fourth-place 4x400 relay team.  


The Biggest Upset of the Year award was handed out to the men’s cross country team. In 2013 the men’s long distance runners took second at the WAC Championships, their best finish since 2007. Individually, Idaho’s Nicholas Boersma became the Vandals’ first individual conference champion since Vic Dyrgall won the Pacific Coast Conference title in 1941. Cody Helbling and Santos Vargas completed the individual podium, finishing second and third.

The 2013-14 Team of the Year was full of stiff competition. Women’s basketball and women’s cross country both won their respective WAC titles over the course of the season. Ultimately cross country’s completion of their four-peat won out as they were awarded Team of the Year.

Idaho’s women claimed the top spot just ahead of Seattle U by a 23 point margin. Senior Hannah Kiser won her second-straight Western Athletic Conference title and was voted WAC Cross Country Athlete of the Year of the second year in a row.

The Best Moment of 2013-14 was handed out the 2014 WAC Men’s Indoor Track & Field Champions. Idaho men’s track claimed the 2014 Indoor WAC title in a dramatic meet that came down to one point. The meet, hosted by Idaho, came down the final jumps in the triple jump. Idaho led with 157 points followed closely by Grand Canyon with 152. Carroll came up big for Idaho with a career-best jump of 49-2.5 (15.00m) that secured the win for the Vandals. It was the Vandals’ first indoor title since 2012.

Idaho’s 2013-14 Coach of the Year was handed out to Wayne Phipps. Phipps was the 2013 Women’s Cross Country and the 2014 Men’s Indoor Coach of the Year. Phipps produced the 2013 WAC Women’s Cross Country Athlete of the Year and the Men’s Indoor Freshman of the Year.

Rounding out the awards for the night were Mr. and Ms. Congeniality. Seniors Colin Briggs, men’s track & field, and Alyssa Charlston, women’s basketball, earned the respective honors. This year is the first for the award that recognizes the athletes that show good sportsmanship on the field and are well known off the field for their outgoing and kind personalities.

Vandal Xtra
Member Login
Learn More
Enjoy PREMIUM access
and LIVE events!
More on
Learn More!
Vandal Camps
Learn from the Best!
Idaho Visitors Center
Uploaded Ad
Sun Belt
Idaho Sports Properties