2010 Hall of Fame class announced
Courtesy: Idaho Athletic Media Relations
          Release: 04/13/2010
Print RSS
MOSCOW, Idaho - Four individuals and one team will be inducted into the University of Idaho Vandal Athletics Hall of Fame this fall. They are Gerry Hagedorn (lifetime contributions to Vandal Athletics), Don Matthews (lifetime achievement as a coach in the Canadian Football League), Ken Owens (basketball), Angela Whyte (track and field) and the 1994 volleyball team.

"We are tremendously proud to announce the 2010 Vandal Athletes Hall of Fame class," director of athletics Rob Spear said. "This group of individuals and the 1994 volleyball team truly are representative of the tenets of Vandal athletics - pride, tradition and excellence. The legacies they established as student-athletes and beyond are examples of competitive excellence, success on and off the fields of play, and charitable giving.

"I would like to extend my sincere congratulations to them."

2010 Hall of Fame weekend is Sept. 17-18 with the Hall of Fame banquet and induction ceremony Friday, Sept. 17, and the Hall of Fame football game Saturday, Sept. 18. The Hall of Fame banquet and induction ceremony begin with a 6 p.m. social at the Student Union Ballroom. Reservations for the banquet, which is $150 per couple and $100 per individual, will be taken beginning May 3.

Gerry Hagedorn

Gerry Hagedorn's behind the scenes support of Vandal Athletics - track and field in particular, has made a tremendous impact on the lives of student-athletes for years. A track and field competitor for the Vandals in early 1940s, Hagedorn continued to pay tribute to his coach - Mike Ryan, Idaho's track and field coach and winner of the 1912 Boston Marathon. Hagedorn's financial support of the Vandals totals nearly $1 million.

Don Matthews

Matthews was an offensive guard for the Vandals and earned four letters (1960-63). He was a team captain during his senior season. After his playing days were over, he headed for the coaching ranks where he built a career of legendary proportions in the Canadian Football League. His CFL career includes: five Gray Cup championship teams, a .633 winning percentage in 22 years, 11 divisional champions, and five-time Coach of the Year. As an assistant, he was on staffs of five Grey Cup champions. He has CFL records for most seasons coached (22) and most regular-season wins (231); second all-time with 11 first-place division finishes, and second all-time for regular season wins (15, three times).

Ken Owens

Ken Owens had a spectacular two-year playing career at Idaho from 1980-82. He led Idaho to the 1982 Big Sky title, NCAA Tournament, and Sweet 16 appearance while averaging a team-best 15.6 points. He was named an All-American by Sporting News and United Press International in 1982, and was also honored as the Big Sky Conference's Most Valuable Player and was named MVP of both the 1981 and 1982 Big Sky Tournaments after leading the Vandal men to titles in both seasons. He was also honored on the Big Sky 25th Anniversary Team. His name litters the Idaho record book with five single-game entries, seven single-season entries and four career entries. He was a two-time all-Big Sky honoree and a seven-time Big Sky Player of the Week. He led Idaho to a 52-7 record in his two seasons and a ranking as high as No. 6 in the AP poll.

Angela Whyte

Few athletes in Idaho history can boast the credentials of Angela Whyte. In two seasons at Idaho in 2001 and 2003, Whyte led the Vandal women to Big West Conference outdoor titles and earned Athlete of the Year honors both times. Her five career individual conference titles are the fourth-most in Idaho women's track and field history, while her career-best 12.78 in the 100m hurdles is also the Big West all-time conference record. She left the school holding 10 individual records and ran on three school-record relay teams in her career. She was a four-time All-American and five-time NCAA qualifier for Idaho, including a third-place finish in the women's 100m hurdles at the 2001 NCAA Championships. After Idaho, she went on to qualify for the Olympic games twice, in 2004 and 2008, and to represent Canada three times at the IAAF World Championships. She has also served as a volunteer assistant coach with the Idaho track and field program since 2004.

1994 Volleyball Team

Thirty-one wins, a perfect 16-0 home record, an All-American, the program's first national ranking, and two NCAA tournament victories. The 1994 Idaho volleyball team took the program to new heights as it became the most decorated squad in program history. The '94 Vandals capped the team's best season with a third consecutive Big Sky championship and a third straight trip to the NCAA tournament, where it advanced to the second round for the second consecutive season. The '94 team set a total of 10 school records, four of which still stand today, and all of which are still at least top three in the Idaho record books.

The team finished 31-3 in 1994, and 13-1 in the Big Sky.  With a perfect 16-0 home record, the Vandals extended their home winning streak to 31 matches, a streak that would balloon to 49 before eventually being snapped in 1996. The '94 Vandals earned the program's first national ranking, and finished the season ranked No. 19 in the nation. Mindy Rice, Brittany Van Haverbeke and Tzvetlina Yanchulova all earned first-team all-Big Sky honors, and Rice was Big Sky MVP, while Lynne Hyland was a second-team selection and coach Tom Hilbert was the Big Sky Coach of the Year. But the team's recognition spanned far greater than the conference level. Four players, Rice, Van Haverbeke, Yanchulova and Hyland, were All-Northwest Region selections, and Rice became the program's first All-American by the American Volleyball Coaches Association and Volleyball Magazine. The '94 Vandals also placed six players on the academic all-Big Sky team.

Vandal Xtra
Member Login
Learn More
Enjoy PREMIUM access
and LIVE events!
More on GoVandals.com
Learn More!
Vandal Camps
Learn from the Best!
Idaho Visitors Center
Uploaded Ad
Sun Belt
Idaho Sports Properties