Courtesy: Bruce Mann (Moscow, Idaho)
Cowan on Ray Guy Watch List
Courtesy: Idaho Athletic Media Relations
          Release: 11/02/2011
Print RSS

University of Idaho junior Bobby Cowan, from Vancouver, Wash., is on the Ray Guy Watch List, which annually honors the nation’s best collegiate punter.

Cowan is one of 54 punters nominated for the award. The original list of 54 will be trimmed to 10 semifinalists on Nov. 11 and then to the three finalists on Nov. 21.

Joining Cowan on the list are 2009 Guy Award winner and 2010 finalist Drew Butler of Georgia as well as the other punters with whom he has battled for the top statistical ranking this fall – Ian Campbell of UTEP, Brandon McManus of Temple, Quin Sharp of Oklahoma State and Jackson Rice of Oregon.

Cowan currently is ranked fourth in average per kick at 47.45 but just .26 separates the top five statistical leaders. Campbell is the current leader at 47.78 with McManus at 47.66, Sharp at 47.59 and Rice at 47.41.

The presentation of the Ray Guy Award will be featured on The Home Depot College Football Awards live on Thursday, December 8 at 9 pm ET on ESPN. The show, hosted by ESPN’s Chris Fowler, Lee Corson, Kirk Herbstreit and Desmond Howard will feature live presentation of nine player awards, along with the recipients of Disney’s Spirit Award, The Home Depot Coach of the Year Award, the NCFAA (National College Football Awards Association) Contributions to College Football Award, and student-athletes selected to the Walter Camp All-America Team. Fans can visit the show’s dedicated web site at to find the latest college football awards news, including show details, previous winners, fan voting, a photo gallery and video highlights.

2011 Ray Guy Award Candidates

Bryan Anger - California
Ben Armer - Western Michigan
Will Atterberry - North Texas
Trey Barrow - Missouri
Tyler Bennett - Utah State
Peter Boehme - Southern Mississippi
Dylan Breeding - Arkansas
Ben Buchanan - Ohio State
Drew Butler - Georgia
Ian Campbell - UTEP
Tyler Campbell - Ole Miss
Steven Clark - Auburn
Bobby Cowan - Idaho
Ryan Doerr - Kansas State
Ron Doherty - Kansas
Kyle Dugandzic - Arizona
Anthony Fera - Penn State

Will Goggans - Troy
Mickey Groody - Florida Atlantic
Eric Guthrie - Iowa
Johnny Hekker - Oregon State
Tom Hornsey - Memphis
Jimmy Howell - Virginia
Josh Hubner - Arizona State
Jay Karutz - Eastern Michigan
Anson Kelton - TCU
Alex King - Duke
Pete Kontodiakos - Colorado State
Scott Kovanda - Ball State
Chase Lansford - UNLV
Richie Leone - Houston
Jeff Locke - UCLA
Brett Maher - Nebraska
Kyle Martens - Rice
Austin McCoy - Wyoming
Brandon McManus - Temple
Kyle Negrete - USC
Brad Nortman - Wisconsin
Pat O’Donnell - Cincinnati
Shawn Powell - Florida State
Ryan Quigley - Boston College
Jackson Rice - Oregon
Matt Rinehart - Kent State
Brian Schmiedebusch - Bowling Green
Quinn Sharp - Oklahoma State
Brian Stahovich - San Diego State
Riley Stephenson - BYU
Ryan Tydlacka - Kentucky
Kirby Van Der Kamp - Iowa State
Cole Wagner - Connecticut
Cody Webster - Purdue
Kase Whitehead - Marshall
Brad Wing - LSU
Dawson Zimmerman - Clemson


Vandal Xtra
Member Login
Learn More
Enjoy PREMIUM access
and LIVE events!
More on
Learn More!
Vandal Camps
Learn from the Best!
Idaho Visitors Center
Uploaded Ad
Sun Belt
Idaho Sports Properties